Next Generation Science Standards

Released in April 2013, the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) are new national science standards that will be implemented across the country. In Oakland, we will begin the transition by focusing on the science practices with an emphasis on claims, evidence, and reasoning (CER), and academic discourse.

For details and more information on NGSS, visit the Next Generation Science Standards website.

California State Science Standards

The previous California State Standards are listed here for reference purposes.

Grades 8-12

Grade One
Grade Two
Grade Three
Grade Four
Grade Five
Grade Six
Grade Seven
Grade Eight

Grades K-8

Biology/Life Sciences
Earth Sciences
Investigation and Experimentation

Or click here to view the entire K-12 California Science Standards from California Department of Education website (PDF; 539KB)